top of page
Search
  • SCMS Media Center

Must Read (and then reread) Books

Updated: Sep 5, 2019

Sometimes you come across a book you want to crawl inside and live in. It's not just a good read, but a good reread. A book to fall back on in a reading slump. One that makes you happy. A friend to come back to. A book that inspires you to write fan-fiction, or a story all your own! The ones that make all other media types need to try harder. These are a few of my favorite books to read, then read again, and again, and again. You won't want to put these ones down!

Some people wonder why I would ever reread a book, when there are so many books on my to-read list. And they are right. My to-read list is extensive, and should be the focus, right? But, sometimes I want to go back and visit a character that became a friend. Sometimes, I want to live in that world again (or sometimes I don't want to leave, so I read it again immediately!). Of course, other times (like in the cases with some classics), it takes a few chapters to get into the cadence of the language, so I want to reread it to make sure I found all the humor I may have missed in the initial read! Whatever the case, some books are just worth a second look. Or third, or fourth, or even an annual tradition! Here are some of my favorite books that are always worth another read through.


The Harry Potter Series

By J.K. Rowling


But he understood at last what Dumbledore had been trying to tell him. It was, he thought, the difference between being dragged into the arena to face a battle to the death and walking into the arena with your head held high. Some people, perhaps, would say that there was little to choose between the two ways, but Dumbledore knew - and so do I, thought Harry, with a rush of fierce pride, and so did my parents - that there was all the difference in the world." - Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince page 512

I know. This is 7 books for the price of 1. I don't care. I love reading (and rereading) the entire series. Aside from the fun of magic, this series teaches some major truths; love, friendship, bravery, acceptance, tolerance... I could go on for days. The quote above was the moment when this series became more than just a fun story to me. It hit me in such a profound way that it stopped just being a book series and became so much more. Going back to reread this series always feels like coming home.



The Bands of Mourning

By Brandon Sanderson


She closed her eyes. 'Dear Lord Waxillium. Earlier you spoke of the power of not caring about what others thought of you. Do you remember?" "Yes." "Well, you see," she said, opening her eyes an smiling, "I'm trying to practice that skill." She proceeded to vomit all over the table.

This book is probably the single greatest book I have ever read. Period. EVER. It is, however, important to note that it is the 6th book in a series. Well, the third book in the second series in this particular world. It's complicated, but you really do have to read all of them to understand what's going on in this book. And they are ALL worth reading! Start with the original "Mistborn" series. (Mistborn: the Final Empire, The Well of Ascention, and The Hero of Ages). You will not regret this series! It's amazing. THEN, go to the second series, Mistborn: The Alloy Era. It takes place in the same world, but several hundred years after the events of the first series. So far, this series has 3 books: The Alloy of Law, Shadow of Self, and The Bands of Mourning. There will be at least one more, but it is not out as of yet!


Okay! The Bands of Mourning. This is as close to a perfectly written book as is possible. The character development is incredible, the plot is amazing, and there are some deep truths discussed that actually changed my life. Wayne, one of the major players in this book, is my favorite character in all of literature. This book is one that is always a joy to read, even if you don't reread the whole series!


Pride and Prejudice

By Jane Austen


There is a stubbornness about me that never can bear to be frightened at the will of others. My courage always rises at every attempt to intimidate me.

Let's face it. You really can't beat a classic. And there is a reason Jane Austen remains popular more than 200 years after her death. Her stories are relevant even now - this one showing us that our own perceptions will never tell us the whole story. I have always loved this social commentary of Austen's work, but let me be real. Mr. Darcy will always be the greatest man in literature. He may have had a rough start, but at every turn he learned from his mistakes and always worked to improve himself, and become a better person. I think that is why women everywhere set him as the standard for a near perfect man. Not that he was perfect, but that he always tried to do what was right. And when he made mistakes, he worked hard to fix them. And he's handsome. *Swoon* Not to be outdone, Elizabeth is powerful heroine that can serve as a role model everywhere. She is so smart, fun, and spunky. This story is one that I could reread again and again and again. The way these two learn and grow together is beautiful. Now, if you'll excuse me, I must go spend time with Mr. Darcy.

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

"That Book" - The Moment it Became More Than a Story

I adore reading fantasy books. Well, any book, really - but fantasy books own my soul. Most of the fictional worlds I read about provide the perfect escape for our own, sometimes challenging, reality.

If a Book Genie granted me three wishes…

Literary daydreams are my favorite daydreams. I, naturally, would prefer to be reading books all day everyday, but sadly, that’s not realistic. {insert sad face}. But to make up for it, I find myself

bottom of page